BJP -Bhartiya Janta Party

The Bharatiya Janata Party is today the most prominent member of the family of organisations known as the “Sangh Parivar” and nurtured by the Rashtria Swyamsevak Sangh (RSS). Like the RSS, the BJP is wedded to India’s unity and integrity, its intrinsic identity and the social strength, individual character and cultural uniqueness that have been the hallmark of this great country and its people for millennia.


History is the philosophy of nations. And the Sangh Parivar has a very clear and clear conception of Indian history. Here was a great civilization whose influence and imprint spread from Sri Lanka to Tibet, from Southeast Asia to Central Asia, from one end of the Indian Ocean to the other. It weathered the storms of invaders, from the Greeks to the Huns, from the Shakas to the Islamic armies of Turks and Afghans. It fought and resisted external oppression and its essential civilization and culture survived great challenges and attempts at effacement. The glory of Vijayanagara and the heroism of Maharana Pratap, of a Shivaji and of a Guru Govind Singh are testimony to the Indian spirit.

In more recent times this torch of nationalism and Indian identity was carried forward by Swami Dayanand and Swami Vivekanada. And in the present century the good work has been carried on by Sri Aurobindo, Lokmanya Tilak, Mahatma Gandhi and others. The RSS, founded by Dr K.B. Hedgewar in 1925 and consolidated by Shri Guruji M.S. Golwalkar after 1940, sees itself as the legatee of this heroic tradition. It believes in the principle of: “Justice for all and appeasement of none”. It has no doubt about Hindu identity and culture being the mainstay of the Indian nation and of Indian society. This identity and this culture informs all Indians, irrespective of religious or denominational faith. To the RSS, all Indians, irrespective of religious background, notwithstanding their mode and place of worship, are equal.


Ideologue and Teacher

Pandit Deendayal Upadhyaya (1916-1968)


Pandit Deendayal Upadhyaya was the leader of the Bharatiya Jana Sangh from 1953 to 1968. A profound philosopher, committed organization man and a leader who who maintained the highest standards of personal integrity and dignity in public life, he has remained a source of ideological guidance and moral inspiration for the BJP since its inception. His treatise Integral Humanism is a critique of both communism and capitalism. It provides a holistic alternative perspective for political action and statecraft consistent with the needs of the human race and the sustainability of our natural hab itat.


Syama Prasad Mookerjee (1901-1953)
Founder of the Bharatiya Jana Sangh


The BJP is the successor party of the BJS, which merged itself into the Janata Party in 1977. The BJP was formed as a separate party in 1980 after internal differences in the Janata Party resulted in the collapse of the Janata government in 1979.



S.No. Name Year
1 Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee 1980
2 Shri Lal Krishna Advani 1986
3 Dr. Murli Manohar Joshi 1990
4 Shri Lal Krishna Advani 1992
5 Late Shri Kushabhau Thakre 1998
6 Late Shri Bangaru Laxman 2000
7 Late Shri K. Jana Krishnamurthy 2001
8 Shri M. Venkaiah Naidu 2002
9 Shri M. Venkaiah Naidu 2004
10 Shri Lal Krishna Advani 27th Oct. 2004 to 31st Dec.2006
11 Shri Rajnath Singh 1st Jan. 2006 to 26th Nov. 2006
12 Shri Rajnath Singh 26th Nov. 2006 to 19th Dec. 2009
13 Shri Nitin Gadkari 19th Dec. 2009 to 23rd Jan. 2013
(for the term 2010-13)
14 Shri Rajnath Singh 23rd Jan. 2013 to 09th July, 2014
15 Shri Amit Shah Elected on 09th July, 2014 to till

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s